take it slow

in case you’re wondering (which i’m sure you haven’t been doing) where i have gone to for the past month, here is the answer: nowhere. i haven’t really been offline, though i have been lagging in terms of reading other people’s blogs & updates. here’s something new: i haven’t been sewing either.

it’s not another case of depression this time. it’s simply the realization of just how much clothes i have vs how often i actually wear them. sounds familiar?

usually one would have this problem when one buys clothes, cheap ones, clothes on sale, etc. but when one sews one’s own clothes, is that really possible? well, yeah.

you know how it goes. you can’t seem to stop yourself from getting a nice looking fabric–same thing that goes forย nice looking clothes applies as well to fabrics–and you end up getting a few too many. and when you finally have an idea to make something, you open up your fabric stash only to find that nothing there is the right one for your idea! you quickly have to go out and get a new one. repeat by a hundred times.

and then you finally get to make what you wanted. you wear it with pride once, twice, and then you already have another idea forย another sewing project, and you repeat the same process all over again.

i’m not saying it happens overnight, of course. i’ve only been sewing now for about 8 years, and already i can see that i have a problem. so i started ‘throwing away’ my old(er) clothes that i bought from stores,ย and by this i meant either giving them up for charity or bringing them to H&M for recycling. but still it seems that my closet is just getting more and more clothes.

i don’t know yet how it’s going to end, but at least i can tell you that i’m trying to reduce it now before it’s too late. i mean… i’m sure we all know by now just how ‘dangerous’ fast fashion is, right? dangerous for the environment and dangerous for the human resources. now if you thought by making your own clothes you can at least reduce that danger, think again. where do you think the fabrics come from? not all of them grow on trees either. there are still human resources, other than you, the seamstress/tailor, involved in the making of that. it makes me sad sometimes, seeing somebody make dozens of clothes a month, either for him-/herself or for others, and this is just because he/she can. of course i can’t tell just how hollow or full his/her closet is, but still… i think it’s wiser to not be excessive in anything, don’t you?

with that in mind, i am trying to be more careful in what fabrics i buy & what i’ll make from them. i no longer set myself to sew at least 2 sewing projects a month or at least 20 projects per year, or whatever, but instead sew something i actually need & will definitely wear for a long time. i hear you, i’m saying “good luck!” to myself as well! ๐Ÿ˜€

so anyway, to really answer that question as to what i’ve been doing for the past month, here are some things:

  • read the Harry Potter and the Cursed Child script book. i wish i could one day see the production of this,ย it looked great in my own imagination! ๐Ÿ˜‰
  • got a short social visit from my uncle and aunt, yay!ย auntunclenmeit was their first time here in Finland and of course it had to be super windy when they were here. ergh! but at least the sun was shining, the foods were great (i again of course had to introduce muikkuja aka vendace to them), the talks were fun, and i was just so grateful that somebody from the family could visit me!auntnmewe got to visit Suomenlinna – the Fortress island despite the harsh wind, enjoyed our walk in the city and the market square, and also went to the Helsinki City Museum, which is also very nice and surprisingly nostalgic for all of us (even thoughย we come from a different part of the world!). they were really nice 2 days that i spent with them! and hey, that’s the second time this year already that i got to play tourist in my own (new) country!
  • my husband & i and my mum-in-law taught our nephew to say our names, and he succeeded! he remembered who we were, and whenever we ‘tested’ if he knew which one of us was which, he always got it right! and he liked our names so much that my sister-in-law sent us a video a week after that, where it showed that he just kept saying our names over and over again. โค that feeling when somebody small who couldn’t really say much of anything yet suddenly kept calling your name is just unbearably lovely!!
  • i learned how to make my first lasagne! also how NOT to make it, LOL. i only followed a recipe though, so it really wasn’t any rocket science. the first time i made it i only managed to put in 2 layers of the lasagna sheet, because the sauce were all already used up, ahahaha…. needless to say, i had to make another one, pronto, and with advices (and okay, a little bit of help) from my husband, i finally got it right this time. lasagne1no picture of the first lasagne because it was quite embarrassing, haha! not that this second one is a good looking one either, but whatever! lasagne2it’s a vegetarian lasagne with spinach and cottage cheese as the main content. it was really good for a beginner’s attempt!

that was pretty much it. of course there are other boring things like going to work and doing house chores some time there in the middle, and oh, watching some series in Netflix, but really… nothing else worth mentioning. :p

it’s time for me to take it slow and enjoy life as it is.

14 thoughts on “take it slow

  1. The photo in front of the church reminds me of another one taken 9 years ago ๐Ÿ˜€
    Proficiat with the lasagna success!
    Hahaha, yeah, clothes are not “everything”. There are so many other big & small things of importance that we will find little by little in each of our lives ๐Ÿ˜€
    Such as the lovely nice feeling when your little nephew calls your name โค โค
    Ihana!!

    • haha, yes, i seem to always have a picture at the same spot with different tourists. ๐Ÿ˜€ LOL.
      yes, clothes aren’t everything but it does remain my biggest passion in life. ๐Ÿ˜‰ just have to restrict it a bit more, i suppose.

  2. I completely understand and agree with everything that you said about “fast sewing”. I think about that often as well, since sewing is my main hobby, and my favorite. At one point, my closet and dresser drawers were bulging so ridiculously that I had to come to the same realization–that I needed to stop sewing clothes for the life I live in my imagination, and realize that not every “good” idea is worthy of becoming a reality. It used to feel like sewing was always chasing the white rabbit, like I was just running from one project to the next almost without really enjoying the outcome before I felt compelled to pursue some new idea… but it feels so much better for me now that I’m striving to be more purposeful. I’ve found that when I’m sewing from my stash of fabric–stuff that I’ve held onto because I love it–and sewing to fill a defininte need in my wardrobe, I’m way more excited about the actual finished garment and look forward to wearing them. Thank you for sharing your thoughts on this topic, and I hope that sewing will remain a source of happiness and inspiration for you because I love seeing your creativity!

    • thank you very much for your kind words! it was hard for me to write about it (fast sewing) because i wasn’t sure anyone would understand/agree, but reading your comment made me feel relieved. sewing and fashion in general will always remain a source of happiness for me, and i can’t even imagine my life without them; on the contrary it might be hard for me to limit myself in sewing, but i just knew i had to start somewhere. ๐Ÿ˜€ thanks again for the support!

  3. Good thing is you have a lot of beautiful clothes to choose from. My problem I is I have and practically empty closet. How nice to have your uncle and aunt visiting. And the weather was still nice compared to today’s. The vegetarian lasagne looks both gorgeous and yummy.

    • ah, then maybe i should start sewing for you? ๐Ÿ˜€ to balance our closets, LOL. anyway, thank you for the comment about the lasagne, it was quite yummy and fulfilling (which is just as important, haha!).

  4. This really resonates with me right now. And reading through a few blogs recently (I haven’t done that in a while either), I think it’s a bit of a general theme. People who have been sewing for a long time are reflecting on what they make and why they do it. Needless to say, I totally agree with your point of you. Especially that bit about sourcing fabric for sewing! Thank you for providing something worthy to read! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • wow, i didn’t even know about it being a general theme lately (i’ve been living under some rock, apparently). but it’s really comforting to know that i’m not bursting anyone’s bubbles (hopefully!) and i sure hope more and more people, in general, also think more about these sourcing things before it’s too late. thank you too for your support! ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. The lasagna looks yummy!

    As far a slow sewing, I’m right there with you. I’ve habitually had a smaller wardrobe, so I try to focus on making things that I know I’ll need and use. I don’t have a ton of time or space to work with, so I like to make my projects count! It may not be the most fun or flashy approach, but it works for me. I get mad or upset when store bought clothes wear out so quickly; I prefer to keep and wear clothes for several years, so sewing my own really helps to ensure the quality and construction are there.

    • how very true, what you said about quality! i raise my hat off for you and how you do your sewing projects! ๐Ÿ™‚ i’ve only (re-)started it now, so it might still be a bit difficult to resist good-looking fabrics for a while… but i’m getting there, hopefully!

      thanks so much for the support!

  6. I can only say, true that true that! the fast fashion is really concerning. i used to work in fashion puni, and we had often sample sales. although they were not cheap (bcause they were designer labels) people awerere soooo greedy (my colleagues). and it’s a vicious cycle as well, buy-wear-bored with it-throw away-buy-so on. i must retain myself as well from buying clothes…so far i am doing well! ๐Ÿ™‚
    how fun that your uncle and aunt came to visit!! ๐Ÿ˜€ so lovely. were they cold all the time? hehe.

    Hmm yummy!!! my husband loves lasagna too, in fact, he is a lasagne master. he is soooo dang good in making lasagna. i swear, he is so good that all people we know who have tasted it always ask him to make them lasagna whenever they plan to come to our place :p don’t ask me how he makes it because i dont want to know.

    • ah, that’s interesting! so the expensive prices do not guarantee that people would think before purchasing them or wear them for a long time before getting a new one? it’s quite sad where this world is going, i do hope more and more people will start realizing the impact of everything they do (which in the end goes back to themselves & the world we’re living in). not saying that we should stop consuming altogether, but maybe think about it more?

      lucky you to be indulged in great lasagne! ๐Ÿ˜€ LOL, if one day we could go to Amsterdam again and visit you, you know what to serve us right? ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

