Finnish pop song time, part 2

this is a continued experiment from my past blog post, in which i am curious to know if understanding the lyrics to a song would change the way you “hear” the song itself.

the first Finnish music video i posted on that blog post was a song by Jenni Vartiainen. i personally think that for that song, the lyrics are quite poetic. and i guess you can say (if only you read Suomi) that the words are that of “proper” Suomi language.

this time my choice is a song from an upcoming & popular Finnish band called Haloo Helsinki!. their songs, including this one i’m about to share, are mostly filled with everyday language or puhekieli in Suomi. the easiest examples:  instead of minä (= i), tuu instead of tulee (= come), oon instead of olen (= (i) am). hmm. i guess i’m not making any sense yet, am i? let’s put them in a sentence. the “proper” language for “are you coming tomorrow?” would be: “tuletko sinä huomenna?” whereas the everyday language would be: “tuut sä huomenna?“.

wonderful language, isn’t it? 😀

anyway, when i heard this song for the first time, unfortunately i already understood too much Suomi to not care for the lyrics. but i can tell you from their original video in Youtube that some people from various countries left comments about how they liked the song even without understanding the lyrics. maybe it’s because of the upbeat rhythm or maybe it’s the way that the singer sang with full energy.

my own personal comment: i don’t actually think the music video itself represents the good music. (i was actually a bit disappointed at it.) i would suggest that you pay attention more to the song, melody, and later, lyrics, rather than watch the video. :p

so like the first time, please listen to the music with an open mind. and when you’re done, if you’d like you can again see my terrible translations under the video by blocking (clicking & holding down your mouse) all the way to the bottom of the post. and of course, to see the original lyrics in Suomi, you can just google it yourself.

here’s Haloo Helsinki! with their song, “Kuussa tuulee”. 🙂

Wind on the Moon

If I go looking for love
I am sure it’s not going to come.
But if I just live my life
then I might sometimes fall in love,
and I believe things do happen.
And you will realize it when you come upon something big.

#Grab hands to hands,
sing from soul to soul.
Dip your toes into the cold water,
jump to the fullest into the swan song*.
Because you and me,
we are so alive
that we are able to hear
if the wind starts to blow on the moon

I shouldn’t try too hard
to get somebody to like me.
I know who I am and what I do,
and if you see all that
you can’t let it pass you by.
And anything can break apart sometimes.
But at least for a moment I was more complete than many others.

(Repeat #)

Unnecessary fear, I threw it far away,
so that my heart can finally feel something.
Now I’m standing on the edge,
I am ready.

(Repeat # twice)

*Swan song: according to some myths, just before a swan dies, it would sing the most beautiful song ever. As a saying, it means the best performance or achievement—possibly better than the previous tries—before the end of something or one’s death.

PS. the video clip, music, lyrics, and everything featured in the video does not belong to me. all the credits go to the artist(s), i only borrowed the link for my own personal use. and i apologize in advance if my translation is dead wrong/offensive to the lyric writer.

2 thoughts on “Finnish pop song time, part 2

    • glad you like it! 🙂 and thanks for your compliment, but you know how it is… when you live in a country that uses different language than your own, then you just kind of ‘have to’ learn it. 😀 like you & Spanish language, right?

Leave a Reply

