warming up

oh my, 2 weeks had gone by since the last time i wrote here, eeek! and actually, it’s almost been that long too that i haven’t had the chance to read anyone else’s blog or stay that long on the internet….

right after the independence day holiday here, we went to my mum-in-law’s to make ginger bread cookies. yes, you read me right.Β this is the second time in my whole life that i participated in making these cookies (the first time was last year, LOL), and this time we decided to step it up a bit and make a complete ginger bread house, yay!!

isn’t it cute?? not bad for a first timer (=me)! πŸ˜€ my mum-in-law made the pieces of the house, and i decorated all of them except for the roof parts (they’re done by my mum-in-law). too bad my husband only took a picture of it from this side, i actually like the other side of the house better. :p oh, and the trees were made & decorated by my husband. πŸ˜€ i love how the house reminds me of the witch’s house in Hansel & Gretel’s story (or how i’ve always pictured it in my mind, at least). now this house is in our house (um… that doesn’t sound right, but that’s how it is!), and after Christmas we’re gonna eat it all, hnyuck hnyuck hnyuck!

at the same time that weekend, i was offered a project by one of my ex-colleagues from a women’s magazine i used to work at when i was in my home country. it was to make 12 illustrations for that magazine (both print version and online), and the deadline was in 7 days. at first i actually said no, since i didn’t think i’d have the time to finish it, what with my full time job and all. but she kept pushing me to please try to at least send them one example of my drawings, and they were going to decide the following Monday which illustrator would finally get to do the project. so i did it, right after we went home from making the ginger bread house, and finished colouring it by that night. just as a bonus, i decided to send in my old illustrations too, ones that were never published anywhere (and i actually only printed them to decorate our own house).

i was surprised when they sent me an email the next morning that they chose me, based on those old illustrations i sent them as a bonus. πŸ˜€ after negotiating the deadline (which was finally expanded to 10 days instead of 7), i finally said yes.

and that’s when the race with time began. apparently my nightmare before Christmas this year didn’t have to do with the Christmas itself at all, it was this project. so last week, every day after work, i would go work on these illustrations and since i only had Sunday as a day off last week, i really had to push myself to do most of the work that day. in the end, i managed to finish everything on time, and (at least they said) they’re really pleased with the results. now i’m just waiting for them to be published! double yay! (and i will surely post them here too when they’re out, LOL.)

it was last night that i sent them the final files of my illustrations, and it pleased me this morning to read an email from them saying that they really liked them. it set me off to a very good mood, especially since something else was coming tonight.

or actually, it was “someone” else.

she was one of my closest high school mates, and we haven’t seen each other ever since we graduated from high school. we actually lost contact for so many years, and were reunited thanks to Facebook (yeah, Facebook has some good side after all). she came to Finland for a personal reason, and i was so happy that she made time to meet me! it really put the cherry on top of every tiredness i went through for the past few weeks. πŸ™‚

tomorrow will be my last day of work in 2012, and then my 2 week holiday starts! yippee!! all our Christmas presents are wrapped and put under our mini Christmas tree, so yes, i would say we’ve done our warming up for Christmas this year. though i personally won’t mind warming up some more, since it’s already -10C here (and the snow is as high as my tummy. yikes!).

in case i won’t be able to write again until after Christmas: HAVE A MERRY, JOLLY CHRISTMAS!! this goes Β to all of you, even if you don’t celebrate Christmas… have a good one, anyway! πŸ˜€

photo credits: ginger bread house picture was taken by my husband, and the picture of me & my friend was taken by my friend’s boyfriend.

14 thoughts on “warming up

  1. Congrats on the successful illustration accomplishment!!
    ….. hahaha, still > Asian Kitchen, huh? Nice to see you & ur friend together πŸ˜€

    • thanks! πŸ˜€

      sadly the food in that restaurant wasn’t as successful.. they’re all westernized (of course) and no matter what we ordered, they all tasted the same! mine was shrimp ramen–supposedly Japanese–and my friend’s was tom yam–supposedly Thai–both tasted the same & rather bland.. 😦

      • Ohhhhhh, toooo bad, abt asian kitchen. Maybe u should have taken her to the Nepalese resto u told me about πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  2. That gingerbread house is so cool! I have just been at the shops today and got all my supplies because tomorrow I am attempting my first gingerbread house ever, so I have my fingers crossed it looks that good!

  3. Yes we missed you! Lovely gingerbread house — love gingerbread — and looking forward to seeing your illustrations! Have a wonderful Christmas and two week holiday πŸ™‚ !!

    • and i missed reading all your blog posts too! πŸ˜€ will do my catching up as soon as the holiday starts, haha..
      thank you, and hope you’ll also have a wonderful Christmas! πŸ™‚

  4. Komen yang mungkin OOT. Tapi di foto terakhir lo lagi makan apa dan dimana ya, Pun?
    Sori nih, tapi gue sungguh gak kuat iman kalo liat mangkok besar dan berkuah2, bawaannya langsung jadi laper. Tapi di sini gue gak gitu sering nemu makanan berkuah2.

    • Rik, walopun keliatannya itu makanan enak, tapi sungguh, rasanya ga seenak tampangnya, hix! sorry to disappoint you. 😦 tapi gue bisa tetep kasih tau lo kok, itu restoran Wrong Asian Kitchen (dulu namanya Wrong Noodle), tempatnya persis di bawah toko tempat kerja gue, hehe (gue sengaja menghindari nulis nama tempat kerja gue nih, jangan tulis di sini yak.. for privacy reason :p). dulu pas masih pake nama Wrong Noodle, enak deh makanannya, pedesnya top, gue aja yg doyan pedes sampe nangis2 bahagia saking pedesnya, ahahaha… tapi abis berubah nama entah kenapa jadi ga enak, ga Asia sama skali menurut gue. menu2nya juga berubah jadinya. untungnya masih ada saos sambel “hot hot hot”-nya, jadi gue masukin tuh sambel ke kuah makanan gue, jadi ya lumayan lah bisa gue telen walo masih sambil kesel2 karna merasa terbohongi.

      • OOOOH, gue tau tuh Wrong Noodle. Beberapa kali pengen coba tapi selalu batal gara2 judulnya yang WRONG itu!
        Eh, sekarang udah ganti nama, ternyata malah jadi gak enak ya?
        Susah banget soalnya di sini cari makanan mie-mie-an, apalagi yg enak. Padahal gue penggemar mie banget.

Leave a Reply

